Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, APR, Fellow PRSA: 619-997-2495 or

Featured Posts
Recent posts

ABC San Diego Installs New Leadership For 2019

Incoming board members offers diverse representation of the merit shop industry

(Poway, Calif.) – The Associated Builders and Contractors of San Diego welcomed new leadership to its Chapter Board of Directors, Training Trust board, and Health Benefit Trustees.

Les DenHerder, Owner of HPS Mechanical, was elected Chairman of the 2018-2019 Board of Directors.

CEO Shandon Harbour administers the oath of office to the 2018-2019 board of directors.

DenHerder brings more than four decades of experience in the construction industry to his leadership role at ABC San Diego. He purchased HPS Mechanical in 1976. Since then, company growth exceeds 3,400 percent. DenHerder oversees a staff of 225 people in two offices. Past leadership roles include President, Plumbing-Heating-Cooling Contractors of California; President, Kern County Builders Exchange; and roles with the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (San Joaquin Chapter), and the Building Industry Association Plumbers Committee. Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger appointed DenHerder to the California Apprenticeship Council in 2007. DenHerder earned his MBA from Pepperdine University

“After more than 40 years in business and decades of volunteering for committees and organizations, I found myself once again drawn to serve the San Diego chapter of ABC,” said DenHerder. “This is a world class organization that trains at all levels – from the young, the economically challenged, the professionals that are taking continuing education, to providing a path for veterans transitioning back to civilian life.

“There is no greater feeling in life than providing a path that allows someone to improve their life circumstances – with no strings attached! I strive to do this every day – and to bring this leadership to ABC of San Diego. 2019 will be another great year for this organization,” added DenHerder.

Serving on the Chapter Board of Directors for 2018-2019:

  • Les DenHerder, Chair, HPS Mechanical, Inc.

  • Jeff Hinds, Chair Elect, Ace Electric

  • Glenn Torrez, Vice Chair, PRAVA Construction Services, Inc.

  • John Noble, Secretary, California Comfort Systems USA, Inc.

  • Kyle Kamerlander, Treasurer, Aldrich Advisors

  • Walter Fritz, Past Chair, Nuera Group

  • Kevin Strahler, Chair of Young Professionals, West Coast Air

  • Kristina Bell, Interpipe Contracting, Inc.

  • Mark Cripe, Helix Electric

  • Melinda Dicharry, Paradigm Mechanical

  • David Edmundson, BergElectric Corporation

  • Corey Klinke, West Coast Benefit Group

  • Randy Minnier, Ickler Electric

  • Dr. Gita Murthy, RORE, Inc.

  • Chad Wishchuk, Finch, Thornton and Baird, LLP

Dru Wells, Director of Human Resources of Helix Electric, will lead the 2018-2019 Board of Trustees for the Training Trust for a second year. The Trust board members oversee ABC’s award-winning apprenticeship training program. Helix Electric is one of the largest merit shop electrical contractors in California. “My goal is to build upon the work we are doing on career outreach to attract top candidates to our world-class apprenticeship training program,” said Wells. “We mist solve the skilled workforce shortage facing the construction industry in the future starting today.”

The 2018 Training Trust Board of Trustees:

  • Dru Wells, Chair, Helix Electric

  • Kevin Hartnett, Secretary, Laser Electric

  • Renee Larzalere, Treasurer, Alpha Mechanical

  • Bobby Basso, Challenger Sheet Metal

  • Rick Drinkward, Bergelectric Corporation

  • Jason Hiles, HR Plumbing

  • Paul Rowan, Rowan Electric

Serving as members of the ABC California Health Trust Board of Trustees 2018-2019:

  • Michael Webb, Chair, Reno Contracting

  • Walter Coffman, Walter Coffman Company

  • Brent Dusenberry, Standard Electronics

  • Mary Smith, Interpipe Contracting

  • Brian Wicklund, BPI Plumbing

The Board of Directors and Apprenticeship Training Trustees were sworn in by Shandon Harbour, President and CEO of ABC San Diego.

Established in 1976, ABC San Diego was founded on the principles of the Merit Shop: that all contractors should be allowed to bid and work on all jobs, regardless of union affiliation.

ABCSD  I  13825 Kirkham Way Poway, CA 92064  I  Tel: 858.513.4700  I  Fax: 858.513.2373  I  I

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White YouTube Icon