Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, APR, Fellow PRSA: 619-997-2495 or

Featured Posts
Recent posts

ABCSD Welcomes New 2016 Chapter Board including first woman as Board Chairperson

(Left to Right) Board members Kyle Kamerlander, Ron Rudolph, Diane Koester-Byron, Corey Klinke, Brady Hill, and Paul Rowan

(Poway, Calif.) – The Associated Builders and Contractors of San Diego welcomed new leadership to its Chapter Board of Directors and Apprenticeship Training Trust, and health trustees including the first woman elected as board chairperson during installation ceremonies.

Diane Koester-Byron, founder and owner of I.E.-Pacific, Inc., will serve in this leadership role for the 2016 term. She has served on the Board of Directors since 2011. Koester-Byron started I.E. Pacific, Inc. in 1993 and built the company into one of the most successful small prime contractors in San Diego with $30 million in revenue for 2015. I.E.-Pacific ranks among the top women-owned businesses in San Diego and has earned multiple Excellence in Construction and safety awards.

“My focus for the coming year is strengthening business and Merit Shop friendly policies throughout the region and promoting ABC’s skilled labor programs, which are the future of our increasingly high tech industry,” said Koester-Byron. “It will require all ABC members to be actively involved. I need them to contribute their insight and skills to move our industry in a positive direction supporting our construction workforce of the future.

“We also need to insure our workforce reflects the diversity of the community,” added Koester-Byron. “There is tremendous opportunity for women in construction with equal pay and equal advancement potential, but many women never learn about those opportunities. I want to change this culture so the next woman board chairperson won’t be considered anything unusual.”

Also serving on the Chapter Board of Directors for 2016:

  • Immediate Past Chair: Paul Rowan, Roman Electric

  • Vice Chair: Alex Galicia, BPI Plumbing

  • Treasurer: Kyle Kamerlander, AKT LLP, CPAs and Business Consultants

  • Secretary: Walter Fritz, Nuera Contracting & Consulting, LP

  • Director: Brady Hill, Helix Electric

  • Director: Corey Klinke, West Coast Group Benefits, inc.

  • Director: Ron Rudolph, Rudolph Consulting

  • Chapter Attorney: Richard Freeman, Sheppard, Mulling, Richter & Hampton, LLP

Brian Lynch, President of Certified Air Conditioning, Inc. in San Diego, will serve as Apprenticeship Training Trust board chairman for the 2015-2016 term. He replaces William Smyth, Sherwood Mechanical, who will stay on the board as a trustee.

The 2016 Trust board members are:

  • Secretary: Dru Wells, Helix Electric, Inc.

  • Treasurer: Eric Bader, Pacific Rim Mechanical

  • Trustee: Matt Harbin, Industrial Commercial Systems, Inc.

  • Trustee: Kevin Hartnett, Laser Electric

  • Trustee: Robert Liles, Bergelectric Corp.

  • Trustee: William Smyth, Sherwood Mechanical

  • Trust: Attorney: Richard Freeman, Sheppard, Mulling, Richter & Hampton, LLP

Serving as members of the ABC California Health Trust 2016:

  • Matt Parker, chair

  • Mickey Coffman, Walter N. Coffman, Inc.

  • Shannon Collins, Helix Electric, Inc.

  • Jack Good, Good & Roberts LLC

“I believe in training. That’s why I’m on the Trust board,” said Brian Lynch. “My priority as Trust chairman is to look to the future of construction education and make sure we’re on the path to continue offering quality educational programs. What does the future hold in regards to training and what steps can we take to ensure that our training is the best? How will technology impact our training methods? We need to explore a variety of delivery methods such as digital, online, or video conferencing. Let’s make sure we are meeting the needs of all students,” added Lynch.

The Board of Directors and Apprenticeship Training Trustees were sworn in by attorney Jeff Baird, partner with Finch, Thornton & Baird, LLP. State Senator Joel Anderson recognized 2015 board chairman Paul Rowan and outgoing Apprenticeship Training Trust chair Bill Smyth with certificates of recognition honoring their service. ABC San Diego also recognized Brian Cox, Brian Cox Mechanical; Ernie Pearn, Cutting Edge Drywall; and Dru Wells, Helix Electric, Inc. for their many years of service as board members.

Rowan Electric was honored as the ABC Member of the Year for its involvement and commitment to ABC including committee participation, legislative advocacy, and its committment to safety and training programs.

ABC San Diego thanks installation sponsors I.E.-Pacific, Inc., Helix Electric, Inc., and West Coast Group Benefits.

Established in 1976, ABC San Diego was founded on the principles of the Merit Shop: that all contractors should be allowed to bid and work on all jobs, regardless of union affiliation.

ABCSD  I  13825 Kirkham Way Poway, CA 92064  I  Tel: 858.513.4700  I  Fax: 858.513.2373  I  I

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White YouTube Icon